Facebook Frustration

Former PRSA-LA YP Communications Chair Dale Legaspi left the LA area last year to continue his complete geekification and work in the tech practice area at a San Francisco Bay Area agency, where he assumed the role of agency grumpy blogger.  Here’s his take on the new and improved Facebook. Give it a read and leave us a comment to let us know what you think.

Facebook’s Latest Face Plant

By Dale Legaspi

People are unhappy about some changes Facebook has rolled out. In other news, the sun rises in the east, the weather is cold in the winter and most of the Earth’s surface is covered by water.

Also, people are resistant to change. I’m usually all about ranting at big companies in my posts, but I think Facebook is only part of the problem here. “I hate the new Facebook” is not good feedback.  Clearly, there is no guarantee that Facebook cares or will change anything, but at least give a specific example of something that is actionable. Here’s my attempt.

The first and most obvious issue I see is that Facebook stayed true to form by doing an absolutely abysmal job rolling these new features out and explaining them to users.  A little blue triangle and a bubble popping up when I scroll over it is not helpful in telling me what is going on and why my homepage was overhauled.  I didn’t know any of it was coming.  At least give me some sort of heads up.

Speaking of the homepage, Facebook will now feed you the “top” stories since your last visit. Similar to when the newsfeed was announced, people are up in arms about this feature.  What constitutes a top story?  What if I haven’t talked to the person featured in years?  Shame on me, apparently. Guess I should do some pruning on my “friends” list.

Directly to the right of that is the new ticker. The only reason I know it is called the ticker is because I asked a friend of mine who works at Facebook. It feeds me more irrelevant facts, but it does it in real time, so I can be thoroughly annoyed on a constant basis.

There are a number of other features that are either annoying or just outright invasive, but this is a blog—not a novel. However, we would love to see more of your thoughts on the worst new features of Facebook.

Facebook_logo

1 Comment

Filed under PR Industry

One response to “Facebook Frustration

  1. Kristin

    Totally agree witih Dale. I’m still trying to figure out how to consistently see the information from people I actually know instead of that friend of a friend’s third cousin who once messaged me for free tickets to Disneyland.

Leave a Reply

